Jason S Newcombe - Washington DUI Attorney

Washington Drunk Driving Lawyer ~ Jason S. Newcombe


Washington DUI Attorneys

Experienced.  Aggressive.  Affordable.

Low Flat Fees.  Flexible Payment Plans Available.

(855) DUI-DRUNK DRIVING:
(855) 384-3786

Are Washington State DUI Laws for 3rd Time Offenders Too Tough?


Washington State has some of the harshest and unforgiving punishments for individuals convicted of a DUI/DWI. However, consider California State which just passed a new law in January 2012 for 3rd time DUI offenders.

Under Bill AB1601 sponsored by Assemblyman Jerry Hill, judges will have the option to revoke an offender’s license for up to 10 years for 3rd time DUI offenders. Hills mission is to take 10,000 repeat offenders off California roads to make them safe. And, he feels harsh punishment is just the way to do it.

However, the bill hasn’t been approved and is not immune to criticism. For instance, the California DUI Lawyers Association feel that the penalty is too tough, and will increase the amount of trials at the taxpayer expense to fight off the penalty. While other parties argue that the bill is not tough enough and should include even more harsh punishment.

What are the penalties for a 3rd time offender in Washington State?

  • 90 days to 1 year in jail
  • Electric Home Monitoring Device
  • Ignition Interlock Ignition Device
  • Washington SR-22 Insurance (mandatory)
  • Fines from $ 1,9000 up to $ 5,0000
  • License suspended for 4 years

If you are being charged for a DUI for the first time or your third time, it’s very important that you have a results-oriented DUI lawyer in your corner. A competent DUI lawyer will aggressively fight to negotiate fair resolutions on your behalf.

http://dui-lawyer-la.com/new-3rd-offense-penalty-for-california-dui

 

Washington State DUI Attorney - Jason Newcombe

 

A Washington or Seattle DUI arrest is NOT a conviction. We can help!
We can help.

(855) 384-3786